…and I’m afraid it’ll be quite a while still, until you get a proper blog from me. I’ve got so much on at the moment!!

But to keep you going till then, here’s a poem I have started. It needs a fair amount (A LOT) of work, but I’d be interested to hear what you think of it thus far.

I Think I Can

 

I think I can I think I can

the little train puffed

as it struggled its way up the hill.

I remember it, still,

though I heard the tale years ago –

it is a technique I have used myself.

The chant outside the exam room

I think I can I think I can

and the tired whispers of determination

I think I can I think I can

as I dragged myself around the track

a third and final time.

I thought I could, and did.

 

 

But now, it’s different.

 

 

I enter the darkened street

and the old mantra returns,

sinister now.

Can can can was what I used to hear –

now uncertainty ringing in my ears as

think think think

hits home.

Yet,

pushing my reluctant feet

that long to buckle and give in

to the footsteps close behind me,

the words play on.

Round and round

I think I can I think I can

As I catalogue each sound

I think I can I think I can

Each step ringing loud

I think I can I think I can

Chin held up and proud

I think I can I think I can

And panic deep within.

Buried beneath can and think and I and think and can

A single line within my mind

That carries me past the pub with the ‘alright love’

Down the path with the lack of streetlight

Into the park with the gangs there watching

And homewards homewards through the darkness seeping

Past loveless couples and a heartbeat quickens

Past a white lorry and the atmosphere thickens

And breath is lost until I’m far past

And still

I think I can I think I can

plays on.

 

Not I thought I could I thought I could

like the little train that could, and did,

but can can can for a future

filled with dark streets

filled with pounding feet

and a sense of defeat

as I repeat:

I think I can I think I can

ad infinitum.

 

 

 

And on that note – Adieu.

 

