…is the origin of ‘Good Friday’ (see, I said I’d be referring to ye olde Who Cooked The Last Supper =] )

See, in the days of the Mother Goddess, when matriarchy was in place and men were suppressed (which, I will not hesitate to point out, was wrong just as the suppression of women nowadays is wrong), the day which is now regarded by the vast majority (apparently) as ‘Good Friday’ was regarded as Blood Day. It was a celebration (or memorial? not 100% sure) of the sacrifice of either the Mother Goddess’ lover or her daughter/son, and involved baking cakes for the Mother Goddess as an offering.

So there’s loads more I need to find out about this, among other religious festivals taken from ‘paganism’, but this one has stayed with me particularly. I’ve started, as a result, questioning people when they say ‘on Good Friday’ – but I’m learning [the hard way], that correcting them and saying ‘actually, it’s blood day’ isn’t always wise.

While it has sparked some interesting debates (and the belief that as it’s recognised in most calendars is MUST BE GOOD FRIDAY!!!! has resounded), it has also offended (more so than I’d anticipated, in my naivety) some good, albeit rather religious, friends. I put it like this not because I disagree with their religion (although, in all honesty, I disagree with its very foundations and so my respect for the religion today is…not exactly substantial), but because the friends in question are often more fundamentalist in their views, rather than the self-professed ‘pick n mix Christians’ I usually end up befriending. Perhaps, then, my insistence on recognising the origins of this festival (of sorts) has been foolish, as it provoked a reaction that should have been seen as inevitable. But it has surprised me, that there are so many that just accept what the majority say, and that there are so many that will not argue their point, but rather insist that you are wrong because their religion says so. That is no argument. Give me proof.

Also rather interesting and Easter related:

Not all Easter traditions are Christian in nature. Many are pagan “imports” and, even then, many pagan and Christian traditions have been secularized over time. The Easter Bunny, for example, derives from the worship of the Anglo-Saxon goddess of fertility Eastre (hence the name Easter) whose natural symbol was the rabbit. Use of the Easter Bunny was brought to America by German immigrants – non-German Christians ignored the rabbit until some time after the Civil War when the celebration of Easter became more widespread.

Easter Eggs also predate Christian Easter celebrations. Pagan groups long exchanged eggs at some point near the beginning of Spring as symbol of fertility and the hope that the coming summer crops would be good. These eggs were also often painted with bright colors to represent the colors of spring, from the blooming flowers and the bright sun (remember that in the northern regions there is much less sunlight during the winter). Different cultures today color their eggs in different ways. For example, in Greece it is common to exchange eggs which have been colored crimson to represent the blood of Christ. Slavic countries tend to decorate their eggs with gold and silver and in parts of Germany and Austria, people exchange green eggs on Holy Thursday.

Found here=]

Myeah anyway, intrigued as ever to hear any views on the blood day/good friday debate and also feedback on the coherence of this blog…I fear I am losing the ability both to speak and to type of late!

And on that note – Adieu.

